Ohio DUI OVI Laws and Penalties

PDF Print E-mail

Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in Ohio. If you are arrested for drunk driving in Ohio there will be two separate proceedings regarding the OVI (Operating a Vehicle while Intoxicated) arrest:

  1. Criminal proceeding for the OVI offense dealt with in a court setting.
  2. Civil proceeding through the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles which determines whether or not you can keep your license.

You may be arrested for DUI / OVI in Ohio regardless of whether or not you have submitted to a breath, blood, or urine test. Or if you take the test you could still be arrested for a Ohio DUI regardless of whether or not the results of the test reveal a BAC of .08% or higher. In order to eliminate any negative outcomes, it is important to hire an experienced Ohio DUI / DWI / OVI defense attorney.

1st Offense - DUI / OVI in Ohio

  • Administrative License Suspension (ALS) for a prohibited BAC
  • ALS for test refusal: 1 year license suspension
  • Jail: minimum of 3 consecutive days or 3-day driver intervention program
  • Fine: minimum $200 and not more than $1,000
  • Court License Suspension: 6 months to 3 years

2nd Offense - DUI / OVI in Ohio

  • ALS for 1 year for a prohibited BAC
  • ALS for test refusal: 2 year license suspension
  • Jail: minimum of 10 consecutive days or 5 days jail plus minimum 18 consecutive days of electronically monitored house arrest combined, not to exceed 6 months
  • Fine: minimum $300 and not more than $1,500
  • Discretionary driver's intervention program
  • Vehicle immobilization and plates impounded for 90 days
  • Court License Suspension: 1 year to 5 years

3rd Offense - DUI / OVI in Ohio

  • ALS for 2 years for a prohibited BAC
  • ALS for test refusal: 3 year license suspension
  • Jail: minimum 30 consecutive days to 1 year
  • Alternative sentence: 15 days or Jail plus minimum 55 consecutive days of electronically monitored house arrest combined, maximum of 1 year
  • Fine: minimum $500 and not more than $2,500
  • Mandatory attendance in an alcohol treatment program paid for by offender
  • Vehicle immobilization and plates impounded for 180 days
  • Court License Suspension: 1 year to 10 years

4th or More Offense - DUI / OVI in Ohio

  • ALS for 3 years for a prohibited BAC
  • ALS for test refusal: 5 years license suspension
  • Jail: minimum of 60 consecutive days and up to 1 year in jail
  • Fine: minimum $750 and not more than $10,000
  • Mandatory drug / alcohol treatment program paid for by offender
  • Vehicle Forfeiture: mandatory forfeiture of vehicle operated by offender, imposed by court
  • Court License Suspension: 3 years to Permanent Revocation


Add this page to your favorite Social Bookmarking website:
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Copyright © 2014 Defending Your Case. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.